The Gods

The six children of Cronus and Rhea, the Gods are the third generation of rulers on the earth.  The six Gods are:

Hades Hestia
Poseidon Demeter
Zeus Hera

The Gods were originally swallowed by their father, who feared that he would meet the same fate as his father Uranus.  Only the youngest child, Zeus, was spared this fate.  Under the advice of Gaia, when Zeus was about to be born, Rhea fled down to the Earth and hid Zeus in a Cretan cave.  Taking a stone from the Earth, she returned and handed it to her husband Cronus.  Without looking, Cronus swallowed the rock, presuming it to be his son.

When Zeus was old enough, he left Crete and through strength and guile forced Cronus to vomit up the five other Gods, as well as the stone he thought to be his son.  Falling to the Earth, the stone came to rest at Delphi, where the Oracle of Apollo was located.

With his brothers freed, Zeus and the Gods battled the Titans in the Titanomachy.  Thanks to the help of their uncles the Cyclopes and Hecatoncheires, whom Zeus gave them nectar and ambrosia to restore their strenght and then freed from their imprisonment in Hyperion to the west, the Gods eventually prevailed.

After the Titanomachy, the Titans were imprisoned in Tartarus, guarded there by the HecatoncheiresZeus , who had free his siblings and led them during the war, became the new king of the world.  With his two brothers he divided the dominions of the world.  Zeus' realm was the sky, Poseidon's the sea, and Hades the underworld.  Together, he and the rest of the Olympians live on Olympus.


  1. HesiodTheogeny.