The Titans

After Cronus castrated his father Uranus, he ruled the world with his brothers and sisters, who together made up the Titans.  These six sons and six daughters of Gaia and Uranus are:

Cronus Rhea
Iapetus Themis
Oceanus Thetys
Hyperion Theia
Crius Mnemosyne
Coeus Phoebe

After imprisoning the Giants, Cyclopes and Hecatoncheires in Taratarus, Cronus ruled during what was considered the Golden Age of man.  He took his sister Rhea as his wife, and she gave birth to the Gods.

Unfortunately, Cronus suffered from the same affliction as his father Uranus.  Having himself overthrown his own father, he too was worried that his children would overthrow him. In order to avoid this, each time Rhea gave birth, Cronus would swallow the child whole.

Upset by the actions of her husband, Rhea appealed to her father Uranus and mother Gaia for help.  Her parents heard Rhea's call, and gave to her a plan to save her final son, Zeus.  When Zeus was about to be born, Rhea fled down to the Earth and hid Zeus in a Cretan cave.  Taking a stone from the Earth, she returned and handed it to her husband Cronus.  Without looking, Cronus swallowed the rock, presuming it to be his son.

When Zeus was old enough, he left Crete and through strength and guile forced Cronus to vomit up the five other Gods, as well as the stone he thought to be his son.  Falling to the Earth, the stone came to rest at Delphi, where the Oracle of Apollo was located.

With his brothers freed, Zeus and the Gods battled the Titans in the Titanomachy.  Thanks to the help of their uncles the Cyclopes and Hecatoncheires, the Gods eventually prevailed.


  1. HesiodTheogeny.